Book Reviews

The Children Of Destruction – Book Review

  • Author: Kuber Kaushik
  • Reading level: 12+ years
  • Genre: Children Fantasy
  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin; 1 edition (22 March 2019)
  • Language: English

BLURB

Magic has been hiding at the edges of reality all along. For Alice, life as a teenager was hard enough without turning into a supernatural herald of destruction. And you would think that after causing mini hurricanes with a mere sneeze, being visited by talking foxes and ending up on a journey with death around every corner (sometimes literally), things couldn’t get much worse. Wrong. They can. Between a blind and telekinetic mass murderer, a girl bound to a shadowy demon and a genetically engineered pseudo-messiah, a whole generation of weird is ready to come of age. And when they do, the world will change. If it survives that long.

blurb

Takes a deep breath and starts off the rant!

After looking at the cover, I was highly excited to read The Children of Destruction but what met me was an utter disappointment and a heavy reading slump. The story is a young adult fantasy fiction which has magic at its core. The protagonist Alice is a child gifted with magical powers and when she realizes it, things around her begin to change.

Let me talk about what I specifically liked in this magical book!

  • The plot is very strong. The narrative is taut and gripping.
  • There are too many characters which might excite children for they love reading heroic tales and that of villains.
  • Alice’s sarcasm which kept me entertained in the book. In fact, the beginning was sound but as more subplots are introduced, I found myself lost.
  • The language – it is amazing. I personally love books which employ effective literary prowess.
  • The character development seemed nice to me.

What I didn’t like was the implementation of the plot. The narration is very good but the narrative failed to impress me. Too many characters and their entry in the story was abrupt and annoying. But anyway, the book would turn out to be an ideal companion for the kids given that it has a magical storyline.

MY RATING: 3/ 5


BUY YOUR COPY  PAPERBACK